The tasks of the South Savo Regioal Council include regional and land-use planning and the promotion of local and regional interests in general. The Council creates conditions for wellbeing, economic development and a safe and attractive physical environment for its citizens. It receives its funding from the member municipalities.

The common will of South Savo is determined through democratic process. The supreme decision making body is the County Council. The 67 officials in the Council are politicians elected by the member municipalities for a mandate of four years.

The executive body of the Regional Council is called the Regional Government. It has 13 members. The political constitution both of the County Council and the Regional Government represent the political will of the region according to results of the local elections. 

The five member Board of Controllers assess whether the objectives, priorities, activities, financial means and management set for the Regional Council are being met.